Findlay’s last Deuce post

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the residents of Guelph for their continuing support over the last 8 years. It has been my honour and privilege to represent Ward 2.

I started this blog early in my first term to engage our community in something new called social media. It was the first blog by an elected official in the City of Guelph, and indeed, one of the first by a politician in Canada.

It was a steep learning curve for myself and the City of Guelph. At the time, the City did not have a social media presence. No Facebook, no Twitter, no Linkedin and certainly no policy guiding staff and elected officials for such.

We have certainly come a long way since then. The City of Guelph now has a guiding policy and an active presence on social media. The City has almost 16,000 followers on Twitter.

Much of the early content of this blog came from internal staff information memos and by your emails and letters to me and Council. What maintained the authenticity of this blog in my opinion, was it’s unfiltered content. I did not edit for spellin, grammar or whether I agreed with the author. Many times, emails were unflattering or even hostile towards me. This is how life is in public office and this is what I believed, you needed to see.

The Ward 2 Blog was always intended to be a collaborative dialogue between your two Ward 2 Council representatives and you. It started with Councillor Vicki Beard and myself. Vicki was very involved in the pollinator community and contributed many opinion pieces posted here.

After the 2010 election, I offered to work with Councillor Van Hellemond on the newly renamed Deuce. He declined. Not sure if he knew what I was referring to. Maybe still doesn’t.

I am now offering it to your 2014-2018 Ward 2 representatives to continue this honest and authentic engagement.

Councillor James Gordon has readily agreed to take on this challenge.

So after 8 years and 4600 posts (almost 2 per day), 526,000 views (180 per day average) and 4500 comments (lead by Ron, Don, and John), I happily hand over the reigns to Councillor Gordon.

Best of luck Sir and thank you.

The Deuce wouldn’t be the success it is today without the continuing support of our subscribers and readers. It is to you that I am truly thankful.

I hope that the Deuce continues to be your valued community resource for Ward 2 information and discussion.

Ciao for now,
ian

9 Comments

Filed under #OpenGov, Branding of Guelph, City Policy, Transparency

9 responses to “Findlay’s last Deuce post

  1. jamesgordoncouncillor

    You’ve left big shoes to fill Mr. Findlay, – thanks for your amazing contribution to our city well-being…. I am honoured to be continuing with the Deuce and hope I can do it justice!

  2. Brian Holstein

    Thank you, Ian, for the blog and for your service to the city. The people of Ward 2 were wise to select and elect you. May your future be as fulfilling.
    And congratulations, James Gordon. The people of Guelph look forward to another four years of productive dialog around the council horseshoe.

  3. You have been a role model and mentor Ian, thank you for your leadership, vision and integrity over the last eight years. You have never wavered from your commitment to put community first, above and over personal interest or short-term gain. And your leadership on the social media front inspired me to jump in feet first seven years ago, with Five Alive — ward5.ca — which, as of December 1 will be shared with newly-elected councillor Cathy Downer. You have left big giant shoes to fill my friend….

  4. Bill

    Thanks Ian for your diligence over the years, this is one of my main sources of information. I really appreciated your unfiltered approach. This was a great initiative and a great source of information. Thank you James Gordon for keeping the dream alive.

  5. mike darmon

    Thanks Ian for all your years of service to the City if Guelph.You have always taken the high road which means a lot to me and I am sure many others.Your blog was always one of the first and best ways to find out about the latest news from the city and you have always answered my email concerns in a timely manner .
    I wonder what is on the horizon for you now and I do hope you somehow continue to be involved with our great city.
    Mike

  6. sevrah

    Thanks Ian!
    Welcome James!

  7. Jill Rosszell

    I HAVE APPRECIATED YOUR POSTINGS.i FELT THEY WERE OPEN AND TRANSPARENT. tHANK YOU VERY MUCH AND GOOD LUCK WITH FUTURE ENDEAVERS. jILL.

  8. Dana

    I second all the previous messages which express appreciation to Ian for his superb efforts to keep Ward 2 informed and like all the others, wish Ian the best of luck in whatever he chooses to do. It is a loss for Guelph government… but welcome to James!
    Dana

  9. Sian

    Ian thanks so much for all your guidance as I ran for office!! I have enjoyed getting to know you and love your warp sense of humour! James, if it couldn’t be me there for Ward 2…….. I am soooo glad it was you! You have worked hard and you have earned your spot on Council. Good Luck to both of you!!

    Keep Smiling,

    Sian 🙂

Leave a Reply

