Wilson Farmhouse intimidation

A resident’s perspective.

I am writing to express my opinion of the Wilson farm house.

I reside on ***** Street and have been a resident of this street for over 5 years.

I attended an informal meeting in the park on Saturday September 14th, 2013 held by neighbours and attended by city Councillor Andy Van Hellemond.

Although the opinion of some vocal neighbours in the group was one of wanting to have the farmhouse demolished, I am not in favour of this and would like to see the home be designated a heritage building.

However, the meeting was not the place to voice my opinion since some of the individuals were quite aggressive and I did not want to alienate myself amongst my neighbours.

I am not alone in feeling this way.

There were a handful of local residents who do not agree with the ‘pro-demolish’ group in the area, however do not want to speak up in fear of having ill feelings amongst neighbours.

I am disappointed that our views could not be shared with city hall in a survey provided by city hall, but instead one was distributed by a neighbour who made it very clear on which side of the issue he stood.

The process hasn’t been a fair and transparent one.

The opinions of all local residents are not shared by the most vocal members, yet these members are claiming that they represent the views of the entire neighbourhood.

This couldn’t be further from the truth.  Name Withheld

Leave a comment

Filed under Heritage, Wilson Farm Park

Leave a Reply

